Monday, August 26, 2013

The Waterspell series Book 2 The Wysard by Deborah J. Lightfoot

WATERSPELL Book 1: The Warlock
Drawn into the schemes of an angry wizard, Carin glimpses the place she once called home. It lies upon a shore that seems unreachable. To learn where she belongs and how to get there, the teenage traveler must decipher the words of an alien book, follow the clues in a bewitched poem, conjure a dragon from a pool of magic—and tread carefully around a seductive but volatile, emotionally scarred sorcerer who can’t seem to decide whether to love her or kill her. "Carin and Verek’s well-crafted relationship balances in a tense power struggle … intriguing premise and original characters …

WATERSPELL Book 2: The Wysard
After blundering into the last stronghold of magic, Carin discovers that she is right to fear the wizard Verek. He is using her to seal the ruptures in the void, and she may be nothing more to him than an expendable weapon. What will he do with her—or to her—when his world is again secure? Or has he erred in believing that the last bridge has been broken? The quest may not, in fact, be over … and Lord Verek may find himself not quite as willing to dispose of his fiery water-sylph, Carin, as he once believed himself to be.

About the author:

Deborah J. Lightfoot

Castles in the cornfield provided the setting for Deborah J. Lightfoot’s earliest flights of fancy. On her father’s farm in Texas, she grew up reading tales of adventure and reenacting them behind ramparts of sun-drenched grain. She left the farm to earn a degree in journalism and write award-winning books of history and biography. High on her Bucket List was the desire to try her hand at the genre she most admired. The result is WATERSPELL, a multi-layered fantasy trilogy about a girl and the wizard who suspects her of being so dangerous to his world, he believes he'll have to kill her ... which troubles him, since he's fallen in love with her. Waterspell Book 1: The Warlock; Book 2: The Wysard; and Book 3: The Wisewoman.


E-BOOKS Now Available
Introductory Pricing

Kindle Editions $2.99 each
Book 1: The Warlock
Book 2: The Wysard
Book 3: The Wisewoman

NOOK Books $2.99 each
Book 1: The Warlock
Book 2: The Wysard
Book 3: The Wisewoman

Other Formats & Devices
$2.99 each
Book 1: The Warlock
Book 2: The Wysard
Book 3: The Wisewoman

4 / 5

While I was just to review the second book in this series, I discovered quickly that there was far too much story before Wysard so I went back and read the first book in the series so all the little pieces would fall into place. I'm so glad I did otherwise I would have missed the depth of the characters in the Waterspell series.
Ms. Lightfoot has opened a new mystical world with this series.  While the premise isn't new, the characters and setting most definitely will leave you wanting more.  I look forward to reading the third book and can't wait to see where the author takes us. 

1 comment:

Deborah J. Lightfoot said...

Thanks for your review and for hosting this stop on my book tour. I'm glad you've enjoyed Waterspell Books 1 and 2. Many questions are answered in Waterspell Book 3: The Wisewoman, so I hope you will continue on with the series.

Have a great week!